David Matthews has been appointed the new Vice President of the ICAEW.

Matthews joined ICAEW Council in 2010, and has previously served on the Institute’s Professional Standards Board as well as, currently, the Board of the ICAEW and Chair of its Technical Strategy Board. Matthews joined KPMG after graduating from London School of Economics in 1982 and was made partner in 1996. Most of his career has been working primarily with large multinational organisations, although since 2011 he has held the full-time management role of Head of Quality and Risk Management. Previously during his career at KPMG, David has held a range of positions, including Head of Audit for KPMG’s Consumer and industrial Markets group, Head of Accounting Advisory Services and Head of KPMG’s Drinks sector.

Speaking about his recent election, Matthews said: ‘I strongly believe that we should be proud of our Institute. The strength of our qualification, our members’ contributions to both business and wider society and ICAEW’s leadership role in developing governance, corporate reporting and auditing in the UK and beyond all justify this. However, no ICAEW member is immune from the crisis in confidence in business, the volatile, uncertain business world, the impact of technology, increasing regulation or public scrutiny. This means that rapid change in the skills and support that our current and future members will need is vital. I look forward to working to help address these challenges.”

Current ICAEW Vice President, Fiona Wilkinson added: ‘I would like to congratulate David on his recent election as Vice President, in particular given the quality of the other candidates participating. It was fantastic to receive so many strong applications, all of whom showed great enthusiasm and commitment to ICAEW. I am thrilled that David will be taking the role of Vice-President and am excited to see the changes he will bring with him.’

Matthews will serve as Vice-President from June 2018 to June 2019, subject to his formal election at the June Council meeting. He will serve as ICAEW President from June 2020 to June 2021.



Related news