Water regulator,Ofwat has announced the appointment of four new non-executive Directors (NEDs) to its board, following a joint process by Defra, the Welsh Government and Ofwat.

The four new non-executive members are:
Nicola Bruce – Nicola has a background in corporate governance in regulated markets and in championing the interests of vulnerable customers. Nicola is a non-executive Director at the Anchor Hanover Group and was previously a non-executive Director at The Money Advice Service.

David Jones – With a background in software and digital technology, and substantial business transformation experience, David also holds non-executive Director roles at Ofcom and Qualifications Wales. He brings a deep understanding of the Welsh policy landscape and economic, social, and environmental circumstances in Wales.

Seema Kennedy OBE – Seema’s background is in corporate law and business, and as a former MP, she was Public Health Minister, Immigration Minister and Co-Chair of the Jo Cox Commission on Loneliness.

Jonathan Kini – Jonathan is currently the Managing Director of TalkTalk Business with wider business leadership experience in the telecoms and energy sectors.

Jonson Cox, Chair of Ofwat, said “I am really pleased to welcome all our new colleagues to the Board. Ofwat’s job entails balancing the interests of customers and investors, immediate and longer term priorities and holding water and wastewater providers to account for meeting their customers’ needs.’

“Our four new NEDs collectively bring a range of skills and experience that will provide support and challenge to Ofwat and will ensure that Ofwat continues to be led by a strong and effective board.”

The appointments, made by the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, come as two non-executive members of Ofwat’s Board – Christine Farnish and Martin Lawrence – come to the end of their terms and will be stepping down at the end of the month.